The history of our company
A family-owned company since 1909
In March of 1909 Ulrich Leysieffer found his true love in Osnabrück - not only once but twice. He married his wife Emilie only one month after they realised their dream of owning a confectionery cafe. His regard for the highest quality, his keen sense for entrepreneurship - he was a merchant’s son - and of course, his wife, who quickly became the heart and soul of the cafe, made the company a success from the very beginning.
Through wars and recessions.
In 1967, Axel Leysieffer joined the company as the 3rd generation and in 1973 the company relocated to larger premises in Osnabrück-Atter. Our manufactory in Osnabrück-Atter has remained the companies production site to this day.
Elevating Leysieffer to a national brand.
Axel Leysieffer, the third generation owner, inherited his fathers passion for the confectionary craft. He opened up Leysieffer's first location on the popular island of Sylt, soon making Leysieffer a household name across Germany. Generations of vacationers would soon come home with stories of streets filled with the scent of homemade waffles and delicious ice cream. Cooking forums are filled with entries trying to replicate our delicious milk rice and "Rote Grütze" recipes. A recipe that remains secret and unparalled to this day...
Entering the next 111 years of indulgence
Axel's son Jan Leysieffer took over the company in 2008 with his wife Sylvia by his side. While he preserved the beloved family recipes and traditional craftsmanship customers cherished, Sylvia created Leysieffer's signature designs and unique packaging. From hand-painted drawings to beautifully crafted advent calendars everything was conceptualised and created by her, making every creation a true family effort.